Dream Diary: “Four Flashes”

I did not know that the girl who had died had been an extremely successful podcaster. I looked through her possessions and was mesmerized by the sheer range of her production. The podcast was adapted for mugs, posters, and, most impressively, two leather-bound volumes containing the entire transcripts of the series.

* * * *

I couldn’t find a cup of coffee anywhere in Galveston. Now that the city had been purchased by Disney, every cafe just had a picture of Goofy on it and served amusingly-named milkshakes for kids.

* * * *

I had been put in charge of making sure Chuck Berry hit all the right notes. I did not know how to play the guitar, so this worried me. But as my hands gripped Chuck’s and I let him take control, by halfway through “Reelin’ and Rockin’” I looked at the audience and knew we would pull it off.

* * * *

I had fired a lot of rockets into the vast modern glass house. They waited until later to tell me that Eisenhower had probably died, but I knew it already; in the distance I had seen his limp body lying at the foot of one of the glass elevator shafts.

