Hello, PRISM!

Hello, PRISM!

Though I only just met you, I feel like you’ve known me for years.

PRISM, darling, you should have told me you were here! It seems like I’ve said so many foolish things in emails and Facebook chats before. I hope you didn’t misinterpret anything; I wouldn’t want you to be hurt. (I also don’t want to be rendered, hah!)

But now that I know you’re around, I’ll be sure to do things a little differently. From now on, whenever I issue an emoticon in a chat, I’ll make sure to leave another. One for the recipient and one for PRISM. 🙂 🙂

I’m also going to stop saying things in correspondence like “I don’t much care for the president” and “Fuck PRISM.” He could probably take it, but you seem really sensitive about criticism.

I suppose I should catch you up on who I am, although come to think of it I guess there’s no need.

But we do have so much in common, you and I. Neither of us likes it when people say things about us in public. You have constant access to everything I do, and so do I. We’re both into Pink Floyd.

I’ll sleep easy knowing I’m always in some way being snuggled by you, and that as I laugh and weep at emails and chats, you’re right there doing the same through your covert national security backdoor into the tech companies’ servers.

Truly, PRISM, I’m glad I know about you. I would call you, but I’m on Verizon and worried about my privacy. Instead, I’ll just save this email in my drafts; I’m sure it’ll reach you.

Love,

Nathan

From the new book Children’s Letters to PRISM

