Correspondence received Oct. 28, 2009

Subject: Note on the Bagheera Spider

Dear Nathan Robinson,

I recently received a halloween card in my faculty mail box, thanking me for discovering a spider that obtains a lot of its food (albeit not all of its food) from plant tissue.   Are you the Nathan Robinson that sent it to me?   I thank you if so, its very kind.

If you are not the Nathan that sent me the note, please let me know, and apologies for the intrusion into your Inbox.

Are you especially interested in spiders, or especially interested in vegetarianism, or both?   It’s rare to find a person who admires spiders, so I am just curious.

Sincerely,

Prof. Eric Olson

Senior Lecturer in Ecology
Program in Sustainable International Development
The Heller School for Social Policy and Management
Brandeis University

Leave a Reply

